Where are they Now?

With one week to go until Watersprite 2019 we’re taking a look back at some previous winners and catching up with where they are now…

William McGregor


William McGregor won the ‘Film of the Year’ award in 2010 when Watersprite was formerly named Cam’Era with his film Who’s afraid of the Water Sprite?. The short film was proclaimed by The Royal Television Society as “The best student film we have ever seen” and since then the festival has been named ‘Watersprite’ after the film.

Since then, he has gone on to great things including directing four episodes of BBC’s Poldark and was the youngest ever director of E4’s MisFits. One of his episodes of Poldark was described by The Daily Telegraph as “one of those rare occasions when a popular drama series delivers something that properly belongs to art”. He was also selected as Screen International “Star of Tomorrow” in 2012 and recently directed Gwen.


Carla Simón

Carla 2.png

Carla Simón won ‘Best Documentary’ in 2014 and has gone on to major successes in the Spanish film industry. She believes in making films that show the complexity of the human condition and of family relationships. This was manifested in her autobiographical Catalan-language film Estiu 1993  (Summer 1993) which was recently selected as the Spanish entry for the Best Foreign Language Film at the 90th Academy Awards. As she works on her second film, she is teaching children in Barcelona about film through the medium of cinema.

Nick Rowland


Nick Rowland’s nominated film Dancing in the Ashes in 2013 went on to win a Royal Television Award and some of his more recent films have been just as successful with Out of Sight being nominated for the Best Short Film at the Sundance Film Festival, Group B winning a student Oscar and SLAP winning Best Short Film at the Edinburgh International Film Festival and gaining both BAFTA and BIFA nominations.

More recently he has been working with the BBC on drams such as Ripper Street and Hard Sun and he is currently working on his debut feature film.


Aldermar Matias


Aldermar Matias’s film When I Get Home was the first documentary to win Film of the Year and was a huge success at the festival winning the top prize as well as the Best Documentary. His later film El Enigmo was also a great success and premiered at a number of international film festivals.

He is currently working on La Arrancade a debut film about a young athlete struggling with her role in national sports in Cuba. The film is said to offer strong feminist insights and a heart-warming mother-daughter relationship.